Three Huskies honored by BSCFree Access

A trio of Jackson County Central baseball players have earned all-Big South Conference accolades.

Seniors Payton Handevidt and Trace Michelson have been named to the first-team all-conference team and senior Levi Lindley is an honorable-mention pick.

All three have also been all-district football players each of the last two seasons and Handevidt was an all-conference wrestler in the winter — his fifth straight such honor.

The trio provided plenty of pop in the Husky lineup, combining for five of the team’s seven homers and four of its five triples.

Handevidt led the team with 19 runs scored, 11 stolen bases and three triples and tied for the top spot with 24 base hits, two home runs and four doubles. He was second with a .358 batting average and 18 runs batted in.

He also pitched in four games, striking out six batters in seven innings.

Michelson led the team with 22 RBI and tied Handevidt for the team lead with two homers. He had 22 hits, including two doubles and a triple, and scored 15 runs. His .344 batting average ranked third on the team.

On the mound, Michelson posted a 3.04 earned-run average in 25 and one-third innings and struck out 28 batters.

Lindley had two doubles, one triple and one home run amongst his 18 hits. He scored 15 runs, drove in eight runs and was second on the team with 14 walks. Lindley was fourth on the team with a .340 batting average.

Lindley pitched in three games, striking out 14 batters in 10 and one-third innings.

All-conference small-school division

JCC: Payton Handevidt (12), Trace Michelson (12)

Windom: Noah Armstrong (12), Braydon Kreofsky (12), Josh Garrison (11), Drew Rothenberger (10)

Redwood Valley: Isaac Louwagie (12), Alex Lang (12), Carson Woodford (12)

Luverne: Casey Sehr (12), Braydon Ripka (12), Connor Connell (10)

Pipestone: Kaden Musch (12), Merrick Heidebrink (11)

St. James: Tanner Olson (12), Connor Jones (12)

Blue Earth Area: Logan O’Hara, Parker Meyers

Honorable mention small-school division

JCC: Levi Lindley (12)

BEA: Kean Hicks, Soren Fering

Luverne: Kaden Anderson (12), Connor Overgaard (12)

Pipestone: Austin Johnson (12)

Redwood Valley: Jahger Bill (12), Zach Paulsen-Reck (12)

Windom: Brady Espenson (11)

All-conference big-school division

Fairmont: Eli Anderson (12), Jacob Crissinger (12), Zach Jorgenson (12), Jacob Kosbab (11), Landon Meyerdink (11), Nate Solter (10)

Marshall: Charlie Jacobson (12), Connor Neubeck (12), Tyler Maegaert (11), Lincoln Graven (11)

New Ulm: Maddox Mortensen (12), Carter Lang (12), Jaden Drill (12), Ayden Jensen (10)

St. Peter: Jake Moelter (12), Kaeden Guida (10), Sam Moelter (10)

Waseca: Carter McQuery (12)

Honorable mention big-school division

Waseca: Tyson Reger (11), Griffin Krautkremer (11)

St. Peter: Matias Anderson (11)

New Ulm: Jace Schaefer (12), Jack Albrecht (11), Ben Hohensee (11)

Marshall: Parker Schmidt (10)

Fairmont: Gavin Rodning (12), Lincoln Becker (11)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.